Covid-19 Task Force

HomeCovid-19 Task Force
HomeCovid-19 Task Force

Recognizing the disruption that COVID 19 is creating for nursing education, OADN created a COVID-19 Task Force. The Task Force is comprised of individuals who represent a national perspective and were asked to provide guided consideration and generate ideas to address future teaching/learning structures and opportunities in nursing education. The Task Force was divided into 4 work groups:

  • Online Teaching
  • Simulation and Virtual Simulation (in collaboration with OADN Simulation Task Force)
  • Regulation/Accreditation
  • Industry Partners

The groups worked to identify innovative methods of restructuring the teaching/learning process, recognized need for modifications based on the pandemic; developed strategies for providing meaningful clinical learning opportunities, discussed academic/practice partnership considerations, and created a plan for collaborating with industry partners for high quality and safe return of students to clinicals.

Task Force Members

Nina Almasy

Nina Almasy DNP, RN, CNE
Department Chair
Professional Nursing
Austin Community College
Austin, TX

Lynette Apen

Lynette Apen MSN, RN
Division Dean
Nursing & Allied Health
Evergreen Valley College
San Jose, CA

Lauren Cline

Lauren Cline EdD, MN, RN
Associate Dean
Lake Washington Institute of Technology
Kirkland, WA

Rishi Desai

Rishi Desai MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer
Berkeley, CA

Kathy Dolter

Kathryn J. Dolter PhD, RN
Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army (Ret.)
Dean of Nursing
Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Jennifer Eccles

Jennifer Eccles PhD, MScN, MEd RN
System Director for Nursing Initiatives
HealthForce Minnesota
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities

Keri Nunn-Ellison

Keri Nunn-Ellison EdD, MSN/Ed, RN, CNE
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
Atlanta, GA

Mariann Harding

Mariann Harding PhD, RN, CNE, FAADN
Professor of Nursing Technology
Kent State University Tuscarawas
New Philadelphia, OH

Robin Harris

Robin D. Harris MSN, MSEd, RN, CNE
Dean, Health Sciences and Wellness Programs
Associate Professor, Associate Degree Nursing
Program Coordinator, Practical Nursing
College of The Albemarle
Elizabeth City, NC

Jordan Howard

Jordan Howard MSN, RN
Director of Nursing
Fort Scott Community College
Fort Scott, Kansas

Liz Mizerek

Elizabeth Mizerek MSN, RN, FN-CSA, CNE, CEN, CPEN, FAEN, PhD-C
Director of Nursing Education
Mercer County Community College
Trenton, NJ

Catherine Miller

Catherine Miller EdD, MSN, RN, FAADN
Higher Education Consultant
Chatham, IL