

# Organization for Associate Degree Nursing (OADN) 2022 Town Hall Meeting Hyatt Regency New Orleans, LA November 19, 2022 12:10 p.m. – 1:40 p.m.

# MINUTES

### Call to Order and Welcome and Introductions

President Laura Schmidt welcomed everyone and called the OADN 2022 Town Hall Meeting to order at 12:10 p.m. Laura Schmidt stated the agenda for the meeting and the minutes from the 2021 Town Hall were posted on the OADN website prior to the Town Hall meeting.

Laura Schmidt then introduced the 2021-2022 Board of Directors as:

- President-Elect: Dr. Karen LaMartina
- Treasurer: Dr. Cynthia Maskey
- Secretary: Dr. Lisa Hawthorne
- Northeast Regional Director: Dr. Cheryl Spencer
- o Southeast Regional Director: Dr. Audria Denker
- Midwest Regional Director: Dr. Patricia Nabal
- Southwest Regional Director: Dr. Jayson Valerio
- o Western Regional Director: Dr. Lynette Apen
- o Director At-Large: Dr. Nina Almasy
- Foundation President: Dr. Christy Dryer
- Public Director: Dr. Matt Morris

Laura Schmidt also introduced OADN staff and thanked them for their tireless support and advocacy of OADN: Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Donna Meyer, Chief Operating Officer, Bryan Hoffman, Director of Leadership Development, Mary Dickow, Director of Advocacy and Engagement Amy Owens, Member Services Representative Harriet McClung, and Convention Specialist Buddy Herrington.

Laura Schmidt then introduced the Convention Education & Planning Committee, thanking them for their exceptional planning support for the 2022 Convention:

- Mariann Harding, Chair
- Sami Rahman
- LuAnn Gamber
- Kathi Johnson
- Mae Simoneaux
- Rebecca Cockrell
- Joan Becker
- Tawanda McNair
- Anna Anderson
- Cherie Rebar
- Juliana Fleming
- Kalaine Weatherly
- Sue Breit
- Shena Sanders

- Dawn Latham
- Nicole Heimgartner
- Denise McEnroe-Petitte
- Board Liaisons: Cynthia Maskey & Nina Almasy

### Establishment of a Quorum with Announcement of State Chapters Represented

Laura Schmidt asked Secretary Lisa Hawthorne to conduct the establishment of a quorum as required by the bylaws. Lisa Hawthorne reported there were the required officers (12), and members (470) present, and that the quorum requirement had been satisfied.

Laura Schmidt then recognized OADN Past Presidents and OADN Affiliate Leaders in attendance and thanked them for their services.

#### Motion to File Minutes of the 2021 Annual Business Meeting

Laura Schmidt called Secretary Lisa Hawthorne to the podium to present the minutes from the 2021 Annual Business (Town Hall) meeting for review and approval. Cheryl Spencer moved to approve the 2021 Annual Business meeting minutes. Cynthia Maskey seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

### State of the Organization

Laura Schmidt highlighted the following during the President's report:

- Identified Strategic Priorities for OADN over the next 3-5 years.
- Developed the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI) Task Force, which became a standing committee in 2022.
- Delivered the Board approved OADN Racial & Social Equity Position Paper.
- Launched the OADN Leadership Institute.
- Preserved and promoted OADN as the *only* national voice for community college nursing education and the associate degree pathway.

CEO Donna Meyer highlighted the following during the CEO report and farewell message:

- Highlighted the 2022 initiatives, and how they align with the Strategic Direction.
- Provided an overview of ongoing and new partnerships and collaborations.
- Provided an overview of OADN's advocacy work.
- Provided an overview of OADN's work with the Leadership Institute which had a successful launch in early 2022.
- Provided an overview of OADN's work regarding diversity, equity, and inclusivity.
- Donna Meyer thanked the Board of Directors, members, committees, task forces and staff for the opportunity to serve as OADN's CEO during her farewell message.

Treasurer Cynthia Maskey presented the annual Treasurer's report:

- Thanked OADN members for the opportunity to continue to serve as Treasurer
- Highlighted revenue and expenses over the five-year period of 2017-2021.
- OADN has strong reserves to allow it to continue to do the work of the organization.

### **Recognition of Outgoing Board Member**

Karen LaMartina recognized Director Cheryl Spencer, Director Nina Almasy, and President Laura Schmidt for their service on the OADN Board of Directors during their terms of office. Karen LaMartina also recognized CEO Donna Meyer for her leadership, visionary guidance and steadfast dedication to OADN as Chief Executive Officer and offered congratulations on her upcoming retirement, effective December 31, 2022.

### Announcement of 2022-2023 Board of Directors

Donna Meyer introduced the 2022-2023 Board of Directors:

President: Dr. Karen LaMartina Treasurer: Dr. Cynthia Maskey Secretary: Dr. Lisa Hawthorne Northeast Regional Director: Ms. Elizabeth Mizerek Southeast Regional Director: Dr. Audria Denker Midwest Regional Director: Dr. Patricia Nabal

Southwest Regional Director: Dr. Jayson Valerio Ex-Officio Director/Foundation President: Dr. Christy Dryer Director At Large: Dr. Jennifer Eccles Public Director: Dr. Matthew Morris

# **Other Business**

Laura Schmidt asked if there was any other business to be brought forward; there was none.

#### Adjournment

Laura Schmidt encouraged members to make plans to attend the 2023 OADN Convention *Turning the Tide of Nursing Education* next November  $15^{th} - 18^{th}$  at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, CA. Laura encouraged participants to remain in the room for the Presentation of Awards following the meeting. The Town Hall meeting was adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Recorded by Lisa Hawthorne: November 19, 2022